Which touchscreen driver is the best?

GregOlson

WARNING: I'm a uGFX NOOB.

My company is looking at uGFX for a new project. Regarding the drivers in uGFX for touchscreens which is the most stable/mature in the library? What reason(s) do people have for using the different chips available? Does the MCU ADC driver work well? In looking at ginput_mouse.c, it appears that debouncing is taken care of in the MCU ADC driver. Since our target processor has a built in ADC that would be the cheapest option, but we are after the fastest to implement and most reliable solution. We are using a 4-wire resistive touchscreen in our design and cost isn't as much of a concern at the moment.

Any input would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Greg

Hello Greg and welcome to the community!

Personally I don't like having the four-wire touchscreen hooked up directly to the microcontroller. In order to read one touch point, four measurements need to be taken. The problem is that in between each measurement the pin directions need to be changed. The next problem is that just one point measurement doesn't give a usable result. Our tests showed that at least four measurements (this means 4 * 4 = 16 individual ADC samplings, swapping pin configurations between each sampling) are required for usable results. Having a very good result usually requires 8 measurements (again, 8 x 4). That takes a lot of CPU time...

In fact, working with the MCU driver is the reason why there are some touchscreen related configuration options in the uGFX library such as the lazy release feature. There was just too much noise.