PNG decode on CC3200

Grobatt

Hello all,

First of all i'm totally new to uGFX.

I'm working on a CC3200 from texas instruments and will need to display PNG images on a 320x240 LCD using SSD2119.

I saw that uGFX include a PNG decoder and also drivers for this LCD controller, so this seems very promising.

I have  few questions:

1/ Has anyone already implemented uGFX on a CC3200 ? i'm quite worried about perfomances when it comes to decode a PNG and display it on such a small MCU.

2/ Can I only use one module excusively (ie. GDISP) or there are dependencies ?

2/ I'll be storing the PNG images on a SD card, along with other files (json as data base) that I need to use in my project.

I'll be using FatFs to open and read the json files and wanted to also use it to read the PNG but apparently uGFX already implement a file system.

So i'm wondering if I can only use GDISP module for PNG decoding and display operations  or do I have to also use other modules like GFILE, GWIN, etc..

Thanks.

Hello @Grobatt and welcome to the µGFX community!

2 hours ago, Grobatt said:

1/ Has anyone already implemented uGFX on a CC3200 ? i'm quite worried about perfomances when it comes to decode a PNG and display it on such a small MCU.

Running µGFX on a CC3200 is no problem at all. After all it's a Cortex-M4 processor and µGFX runs very well on those (probably the best supported platform). You definitely won't have any issues running µGFX on it.