Need help with IL9341 and ugfx

ep.hobbyiest

Hi,

I am very new to tft kinda display. Till now i used different displays like 128x64 glcd. i have il9341 lcd. here is link.  http://static.sunrom.com/p/551/551_1_800.jpg

Can i use SPI interface instead of 16-bit parellel with this?

is there any sample example with nucleo ?

I am using Nucleo401re. So, its bit pain to collect 16 data pin as it become messy.

The ILI9341 itself would offer an SPI interface. However, unfortunately you won't be able to use SPI with this display module that you are showing. You have to use it with the parallel interface. Note that you should be able to use it in 8-bit mode instead of 16-bit mode which would free you from making 8 connections. Usually there is a jumper to select the 8-bit vs. the 16-bit mode. Judging from the picture this could be J1 but please check with the datasheet of the display module to be sure.

Worthwhile to note is that the display will be more than twice as fast in 16-bit mode than in 8-bit mode and probably around 10 times faster in 8-bit mode than SPI mode.
In order to keep the CPU load low and to increase the overall speed & performance, you should connect the display to the FSMC peripheral of the STM32.

We don't have a ready-to-run example for your specific setup (Nucleo401RE + ILI9341 over parallel). This would also depend on what underlying system you'd like to use (bare metal, ChibiOS, FreeRTOS, ...). However, there's a Nucleo401RE example available in the download section which uses ChibiOS/RT and an SSD1306 based display. You should be able to modify that and using the various example board files in /boards you should be able to write the board file for your setup. If you want to use a baremetal system (no underlying operating system) instead we recommend using a working example/demo project from another source and adding uGFX to that.