Errors with uGFX and ChibiOS on STM32F7 Discovery

stucknewbie

Hello

I am new to uGFX and ChibiOS and have been trying to get a uGFX demo working on my board ( the STM32F746 Discovery).

I am using latest ChibiOS(3.0) and working inside of ChibiStudio Eclipse IDE.

Before making the changes for including uGFX inside of uGFX via Makefile edits, the program compiled and ran perfectly fine(it was the simple LED blinking demo for ChibiOS). After making the changes, I removed the ChibiOS's original main.c file inside directory(as required).

Then, the makefile and gfxconf.h were edited as given on the Getting Started and ChibiOS/RT wiki pages. The modified files are attached below for reference.  

Now, when I try to build the project using Eclipse(on Windows), the following errors show up:

1. make: *** No rule to make target 'ugfx/demos/modules/gwin/basics/demo.mk'. Stop.

2. target 'build/obj/gdisp_lld_STM32LTDC.o' given more than once in the same rule.

I have been trying to debug this for the past two days, but to no avail. Please help if possible.

Thanks!

gfxconf.h

Makefile

Hello and welcome to the community!

Please read the following threads for more information:

The short version is that last time we checked (which is about half a year ago) there was compatibility issue with the ST headers used by ChibiOS/RT and our demo. Either of the two used the incorrect / outdated headers.
The linked threads explain what steps are required to resolve this issue.

Just as a follow-up: If you're not obligated to use ChibiOS/RT you can either use µGFX baremetal (without any operating system) or another operating system such as FreeRTOS, Keil RTX or many others. The issue here is really just that ChibiOS comes with its own HAL.
You can find a demo project using the STM32F7 discovery with Keil RTX in the download section.

Yes there are definitely problems with chibios v3/16 and ugfx on the f7 platform.