uGFX and High-speed real-time apps

Stas285

Hello community!

I'm newbie here and would be grateful for an advice.

1. I developed previously a few high-speed real-time devices using Silabs 8051 controllers. "High-speed real-time" means here that there is a timer interrupt every 10 microseconds. Within the interrupt the following is performed:

ADC read with emergency check;

PID control function calculation;

write the result to DAC;

pending UART read/write (1 Mbaud);

system counter increment.

Highly optimized IRQ routine takes few microseconds to do that providing guaranteed response not later then 10 uS after something happens.

The "slow" HMI part (keyboard/encoder and alphanumeric display) is serviced asynchronously in main infinite cycle (without interrupts).

A 8-bit 100 MHz Silabs controller is completely sufficient for this task, however, progress must go on, so I decided to switch to STM32 with GUI.

Thus, the question: Is it possible to realize this using uGFX/ChibiOS? May Systick be as fast as 10 uS (with LCD and Touchscreen control)? Will the response be guaranteed? Probably it's possible to use usual "slow" systick timer for GUI together with another "fast" 10 uS timer having higher priority?

2. The second question is more philosophical. I'm now in search for GUI platform which is optimal for me. Taking into account that I am an "episodical" programmer (and my brain is full of another garbage) the main demand is just simplicity.