Using ugfx on a Teensy 3.1 or Teensy LC

crteensy

Hi,

I'm new to ugfx and considered writing my own graphics library after trying u8lib and adafruit_gfx. Before I really do that I'd like to give it a try with ugfx. I already found the wiki and looked for buffers and paging. I'm not sure if I really need that, but the Teensy hardware I'd like to use doesn't have enough RAM for a whole frame. So my first question is:

Is it possible to have a paged frame buffer (1/4th or 1/8th) with ugfx? If not, is the window display driver model a suitable workaround? (Would you recommend not to use a paged buffer?)

I have applications that use only one color channel of an OLED display (dimmable red, for eyes adapted to darkness). My canvas can essentially be monochrome in such a case, and the mapping form monochrome to dimmed color is done by the display driver. Is that possible with ugfx? Are monochrome (or less-than-8-bit in general) colors packed in memory or does a pixel always occupy at least one byte?

Regards

Christoph

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Most graphics libraries require a full frame to be retained in memory. This however is not a requirement for ugfx (except for some monochrome displays) and is one of the primary advantages of ugfx over other libraries.

If you are using a color display ugfx knows how to do all the drawing without a framebuffer in ram so there is no need to be worrying about paging.

If you are in a very tightly memory confined processor, do not use the GWIN module. Use the GDISP api directly. You should also not enable scrolling as that allocates an extra buffer to cache the scrolling operation.

Thank you, so for now I'll just try to write a driver that works without a framebuffer.