µGFX / ARM mbed.org Port

mzcs

Hi There :)

I'm a Student Working On My Very First µC-Based Project (an ARM Cortex-M3 Based by STMicroelectronics) & I've Opted To Flatten The Initial Learning Curve By Using The Growing-Propular ARM mbed.org Development Platform...

But Altough I've Googled Quite a Bit, I Couldn't Find a Definite Answer Regarding The Existance/Lacking of a 'µGFX / ARM mbed.org' Port, Or Any Workable Setup of These.

Is There Such a Port ?

or At Least Is There a Way of Constructing Such a Workable Setup ? (Preferrably - Via The Least Amount of Manual & Error-Prone Work... Also To Aid In Future Upgrade of The µGFX Part In The Project)

Thank You :)

Moran Z.

ISRAEL

Hello Moran and welcome to the Community!

There is currently no uGFX port for mbed.org at all. However, with some basic C knowledge it should be possible to implement this by yourself. There's a module called GOS in the uGFX system. This module handles the OS abstraction and that is what you need to implement. You should start by adding the two files /src/gos/mbed.c and /src/gos/mbed.h. There are by now many OSes that are already supported and therefore you should have plenty of implementation examples that should give you an idea. The two most important ports that might serve as a good template to you are the ChibiOS/RT and the FreeRTOS port. When it comes to RTOSes, most routines can be implemented using simple #define wrappers anyway.

Sadly the wiki article about creating a new port is far from complete: http://wiki.ugfx.org/index.php?title=GOS However, the forum is always here to help you out whenever you face any issue.

We're looking forward for your new port ;-)

~ Tectu

Thanks for The Warm Welcome :)

As Per The Discussed µGFX Port, Although It Might Take Me Quite Some Time - Being The Embedded/RT Rookie That I'm, I Might Give It a Try.