Well supported TFT controller + OS for STM32F103?

phofman

Hallo,

I really appreciate this incredible open-source work, thanks a lot.

I am new to ARM (STM32) development, coming from the simple arduino world. I am working on a DIY audio appliance controlled by a touch screen and am looking for a well-supported combination of TFT controller and underlying OS for 4"-7" inexpensive TFT, running on inexpensive maple mini clone (STM32F103xx). The actual audio will run on a small PC, this is for the control display and a bit of control functions.

I think for STM32F103 the only viable connection is SPI. For this TFT mid size I found out that the only controller supporting SPI is RA8875 (?). I think I would use the resources offered by ChibiOS but  this thread talks about very inefficient SPI implementation in ChibiOS.

Please may I ask for recommendation of well supported and tested combination STM32F103 + TFT 4-7" controller (usually not available with the ILIxxxx family) and the underlying OS? I do not know if bare metal would be appropriate as I would need at least threads. These TFTs cost more than a few dollars and I do not want to order stuff which will not be usable.

Thanks a lot for any suggestions/recommendations.

Best regards,

Pavel.

The answer is that uGFX works really well with a wide range of hardware. There may be many factors that will govern the right controller for your circumstances. I will list some of those factors below...

1. Cost. Quantity production runs can mean a few cents saved per board add up to big numbers. For one-off projects there are still cost constraints but they are typically less of an issue.

2. Size (or rather display resolution). A higher resolution display requires a faster bus interface to get the same apparent performance and will typically cost more than a small display. 

3. Whether integrated touch is required.