Getting started with E-paper displays

Ken_1

Hello,

First, I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this post, so my apologies if I've come to the wrong place.

I am completely new to uGFX, and have not even downloaded it yet.  I'd like to ask first if it will meet my purposes, as follows.

I am a hobby electronics enthusiast, retired from a working life in electronics.

My preferred uP is from the Microchip PIC18 range (specifically PIC18F25K50).  I use the MPLABX IDE platform with XC8 compiler.  I am far from expert in C code, but have learnt enough to be comfortable with the Microchip methods and libraries.

My projects usually involve displays of one form or another.  Up 'til now I have used small LCD and OLED panels, and am well familiar with driving them.  I now want to experiment with E-paper displays, and have decided to start with the Waveshare 2.13inch E-paper HAT board.  It uses an SPI interface.

I have downloaded example code for this Waveshare part, from Waveshare itself and a few other sources.  I had hoped to hack example code to suit my PIC18, but there is a major hurdle which I cannot get past, namely all example code seems to be written in CPP, which is no use with the XC8 compiler.  Microchip do not offer a CPP compiler for their 8 bit parts, and it is beyond my abilities to translate the CPP code to C.

SO -- I wonder if uGFX can help me here ?
Can it generate code to drive this Waveshare display ?
How will it link in with MPLABX IDE ?
Does it generate C code ?
I am not even sure if these are sensible questions, and I suspect there are others I should be asking.

Can you offer any advice?

Many thanks.

uGFX is a graphics library that makes abstraction from the hardware that you use. So you can write a prom that uses the uGFX library to draw things on the screen, reads user input etc.. without knowing what hardware you are using (in theorie).